The main actors of the Rabat Process

Since 2006, the Euro-African Dialogue on Migration and Development (the Rabat Process) brings together nearly 60 European and African countries from North, West and Central Africa, as well as the European Commission and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) with a view to tackling challenges arising from migration.

This intergovernmental dialogue, which has the specific backing of a ministerial mandate, tackles migration issues in a balanced fashion and in a spirit of shared responsibility. 

With a view to creating a framework for the Rabat Process and in order to facilitate the achievement of the Dakar Strategy objectives through concrete initiatives, the European Commission is funding a Support Project, implemented by a consortium of organisations: the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD) and the International Latin American Foundation for Public Administration and Public Policies (Fondation Internationale et pour l'Ibéro-Amérique d'Administration et de Politiques Publiques  - FIIAPP).